A Decade Lived In The Dark – Deconstruction

IMG_0621

In order to come up with an individual design for the editorial of this piece, I need to find my own interpretation of the text. By looking at the plot, setting, point of view. purpose, and content I am able to find my own meaning within to develop a design for the layout.

The writer Ed Caesar writes an account from his own point of view with snippets taken from Anna Lyndsey’s memoir and interview with her. The piece flows well, but the conclusion ends I feel fairly abruptly, leaving any type of purpose for the article hanging.  He doesn’t seem to have any feeling towards the Character Anna which are neither objective or subjective – which seems quite odd considering the opening sub-line has reference to doctors opinions.

There are many images that come to mind when reading this piece, such as burning flames, a path to the darkness blinding light. However I want to produce the layout and imagery that it not so literal to the text, something a little abstract.

I decided to break up the text into three parts to fit over the 2 double page spread and a single page at the end. I would like to the text to work with the imagery, so that each section of the text works with different images.

To get some inspiration I googled images that I thought would represent the text.

Im looking forward to taking this piece forward and creating images, as it will enable myself to use the use the skills that I have learnt and developed so far this year.

Leave a Reply

